img_6733

It can be hard to find unsweetened plant-based yogurt out there in the world, so I make my own. I used to be intimidated by yogurt making, and thought it required fancy equipment. Turns out it is so ridiculously easy and simple.

Yogurt is a staple of my bright line breakfasts, so I bought myself a yogurt maker and make a batch every week. I got the cheap one ($20), and it works great. I love the little portion-sized jars. Yogurt maker is just a fancy word for a covered thing you put jars of yogurt into that keeps them warm overnight.euro_cuisine_yogurt_maker_ym80I use the vegan starter culture (small packets of powder) from Cultures for Health. It costs $9 for 4 batches, and I can stretch it by using a jar from a previous batch as a starter (which usually works well once and then after that it is a little too weak), so one $9 order of starter online gets me about 8 weeks worth of yogurt. I’ve had very consistent results with soy milk. Cultures for Health claims that this starter works well with other kinds of plant-based milk too, but I’ve never tried it.cfh_vegan_starterculture_highres_front_1


Ingredients

  • 1 quart (box) of unsweetened, plain soymilk
  • 1 packet of vegan yogurt starter from culturesforhealth.com OR one jar of yogurt from the previous batch.
  • Yogurt maker

Instructions

  1. Pour the milk into a pot, and heat it slowly until it is a little bit warmer than room temperature, but not too hot to touch. The precise temperature isn’t too important, but you don’t want it so hot that it kills the culture. Similar to yeast.
  2. Stir in the little packet of starter.
  3. Pour the milk into the small jars.
  4. Put the small jars in the yogurt maker, jar lids off, for about 8 hours.
  5. Put the lids on the jars and transfer them to the refrigerator. It takes a few more hours for them to firm up completely.
  6. That’s it. Enjoy!

I enjoy my homemade yogurt with fruit and nuts. It works great for overnight oatmeal.

img_6734

