I don’t know about you, but when I first started doing Bright Line Eating I hated oatmeal. Seriously, it made me gag.

Now, I eat overnight oats (almost) every single day, because it’s so easy, delicious, and automatic. At this point it’s built solidly into my daily habits, so that my perfectly portioned and healthy breakfast requires literally no thinking, ever.

Mixing up my oats every night for the next morning is as automatic now as brushing my teeth before bed. Once in a while, like on a weekend if I’m feeling fancy, I cook my oats, or have steel cut oats.

For me, the thing that made oatmeal go from glue-y and gag-inducing to a flavorful, creamy, delicious morning treat was the addition of milk or yogurt. I split my protein three ways between milk/yogurt, nuts, and seeds. I mix up a big container of chia, flax, and hemp seeds and add that in while it’s cooking. They pack a big nutritional punch!

There are multiple methods that I use to prepare my oatmeal, depending on my mood, laziness level, etc. Here is a handy chart. The textures vary depending on the method, as you can see from the photos below.

Cooked Oatmeal

Overnight Oats with Milk

Overnight Oats with Yogurt

1 oz rolled or steel cut oats

1/2 oz hemp/flax/chia seeds

4 oz soy milk (or other plant-based milk)

Add these ingredients to a small pot and cook over low heat for the length of time on the package instructions. Stir often.

Remove from heat when it’s a little more watery than you would like – it will continue to hydrate and firm up in the bowl.

1 oz rolled oats

1/2 oz hemp/flax/chia seeds

4 oz soy milk (or other plant-based milk)

Before bed, stir these ingredients together in a container and put it in the fridge overnight.

That’s all! In the morning your oats will be ready to eat, no cooking required. I eat them cold, but you could microwave them if you wanted.

1 oz rolled or steel cut oats

1/2 oz hemp/flax/chia seeds

4 oz vegan yogurt

Before bed, stir these ingredients together in a container and put it in the fridge overnight.

When using yogurt, you’ll need to add a splash of water so that they don’t turn into cement overnight. Experiment to find a consistency you like.

After the oats are prepared, add your breakfast portion of fruit, 1/2 oz of nuts, and any spices. If you add these in while the oats are hydrating or cooking they will become soggy or mushy. The exception to that is frozen berries, they can be added the night before into overnight oats and they will thaw by morning, or cooked a little bit with the oats.

Here’s a general oatmeal recipe, BLE style.


Easy Everyday Oatmeal

Ingredients

Grain*

  • 1 oz oats dry

Protein*

  • 1/2 oz hemp/flax/chia seeds
  • 4 oz plant-based milk or vegan yogurt (soy, hemp, almond, etc)
  • 1/2 oz nuts

Fruit*

  • 1 serving of breakfast fruit

*These servings reflect the BLE female food plan. Please adjust the quantities as needed for your individual food plan.


My Favorite Combinations

  • Banana, Walnuts or Pecans, Cinnamon
  • Mango, Peach, or Persimmons, Pistachio, Ginger
  • Apple, Walnuts, Apple Pie Spice
  • Berries, Pecans, Cinnamon
  • Kiwi, Banana, Pistachio, Ginger, Cinnamon

PRO TIP: I weigh out all the dry ingredients into individual containers in batches, a week’s worth at a time, and store them in the cupboard. The night before all I have to do is throw one on the scale and add the milk or yogurt. Easy!! 

IMG_7028.JPG

