IMG_7259.JPG

I bought a package of Tempeh the other day and found myself wondering what to  do with it. I was feeling bored with tempeh and greens and searching my imagination for food and flavor combinations that would be interesting and new. Then it occurred to me – I used to love tempeh Ruebens. Why not make a BLE version, minus the NMF?

Thus the Tempeh Reuben Bowl was born. When I googled this concept, turns out other people have thought of this too. Dang, I thought I was being original. But mine is the only one out there with proper BLE proportions, so there’s that!

Apparently I’m really into briny, fermented meals right now. I can’t seem to get enough mustard and sauerkraut. If you like this meal, also be sure to check out this one.

This meal comes mostly out of jars. It’s great for when I don’t have fresh veggies on hand and don’t feel like going grocery shopping.

Tempeh Reuben Bowl

  • Servings: Makes 1 Serving
  • Print

Each Serving Contains:

  • 1 Veggie Serving (adjust quantity to your individual food plan)
  • 1 Protein
  • 1 Fat

Veggies*

  • Steamed kale
  • Sauerkraut
  • Cooked, raw, or fermented beets (beet kraut is what is in the photo)
  • Roasted peppers in a jar (check for sugar! Also used for the dressing)
  • Pickles

Protein*

Fat*

*These measurements comply with the Bright Line Eating female weight loss food plan. Adjust quantities as needed for your own individual food plan. 

Maintenance Modifications

  • Grain Additions: Rice, quinoa or your other favorite grain
  • Protein Additions: Increase tempeh
  • Fat Additions: Use extra mayo in the dressing or use more than one serving of dressing.

Directions

  1. About an hour before you plan to eat:
  2. Bake the tempeh in strips or cubes at 350 degrees on parchment paper or in a cast iron pan until browned (about 15-20 minutes)
  3. While the tempeh is baking, make the sauce by combining all ingredients and mixing with a fork.
  4. Thinly chop the kale and steam.
  5. Weigh out veggie serving of kale, kraut, beets, and pickles. Add protein serving of tempeh and dress with 1/4 of the Thousand Island dressing recipe.
  6. Garnish with pickles, salt, and fresh ground pepper.


