I know this isn’t exactly a recipe, and also the idea of fruit salad is really obvious, but I am so excited about fruit that I just can’t help but blog about it.

fruit-2252643_960_720.jpg

I started my food recovery journey last October, so this is my first berry-season eating this way. I just bought my first fresh, local strawberries of the year.

I have just re-discovered fresh fruit, and with my newly healed, off-the-sugar brain and my replenished dopamine receptors, the simple delicious flavors and sweetness of fresh fruit is BLOWING MY MIND.

For lunch yesterday, I diced up some honeycrisp apple and strawberries and put them in a bowl with a little squeeze of lemon juice. I was in heaven. It was better than any dessert I remember ever having. And I was also so delighted by how simple my food was.

I have a tendency to overcomplicate my food. This was a nice reminder to regain some balance with some simple, perfect, whole, raw foods, all by themselves, with nothing else on them.

The other day one of the lovely ladies in my mastermind group said she ate nut butter and sweet potato for breakfast. My response was, “What? How? What did you put the nut butter on? What did you do with the sweet potato?” She told me she just eats it, plain, and savors each bite. Oh. Right. We can do that. And it’s wonderful! (Thanks Leslie! Shout out to my BHAG Gals!)

So this is my love letter to fresh fruit, and an invitation to all you readers to make more fresh fruit salads!

Fresh Fruit Salad

Mix together any of the following fruits with a squeeze of lemon juice.

Eat slowly and mindfully and savor each bite, reveling in how delicious and simple life can be.

Think about how much pleasure you are getting from real, whole, fresh, sweet, nutritious food, feel gratitude, and be powerfully reminded that you DON’T need sugar and flour in your life.

  • Apples
  • Pears
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Cantaloupe
  • Honeydew Melon
  • Kiwi
  • Mango
  • Pineapple
  • Grapes
  • Peaches & Nectarines
  • Apricots
